limbo

My life of limbo:

I’m a Mormon.  But I’m pretty liberal on most issues.  I don’t have many Mormon friends.  I absolutely don’t fit in with traditional Mormon culture.  But I also don’t fit in well with non-Mormons.  I don’t drink coffee.  I don’t drink alcohol.  I generally don’t fit in with most of my friends in social situations.  Therefore, I live a life in limbo between two worlds, not quite fitting in with either.

I’m an MD/PhD student.  Grad students think I get a “diet” PhD (which is not the case in my program).  Med students think I’m weird for liking basic science and research.  I don’t quite fit in with either group.  Hence, again, I live a life in limbo between two worlds, not quite fitting in with either.

These are only two examples.  Limbo can be a lonely place.  But at least its quiet, sometimes.

Make a Comment

